top of page

Well... it's been an odd one

Hi everyone!


So, where do I begin with what's been happening over the last few weeks. The grant from the Uni came through and my laptop came, so that was great, could no longer use that as an excuse for not getting my work done! It has been a bit of traumatic couple of weeks for Rory though!


Let me paint you a picture...


At the end of last year and beginning of this year she seemed to have a constant cough, so we went to the doctors, the first thing was to give her antibiotics, they didn't help. Then she had to have a chest x-ray, nothing showed. So the doctor gave her a brown inhaler. The coughing got better but still wasn't great and it was worse at night. So then she got given a blue inhaler and we have an asthma check-up next week.


THEN


She came home from nursery with head lice a few weeks ago. Luckily, I remember how my Mother got rid of them in my hair and I got rid of them bloody quickly, like they were gone by the end of the week. It was one of my better parenting moments! I mean, yeah it was great at the end when they were gone but it was a pretty full on week to be honest! She told all her friends she has tiny bugs in her hair and that Mummy was going to get them all out. Thank goodness I told her nursery teachers she had them because my name would have been mud! So the nits came and went in a week.



THEN (yep, there is more!)


She gets a scab on her nose, so I just put Sudocrem on it and it just wasn't getting any better. So then we take a trip to A&E at 9pm on Saturday evening because it was beginning to look infected and I didn't want it to get any worse. Now this trip, was something else! It was the first time I had been back in the A&E, in the exact room at the hospital since having Aurora and I had kind of convinced myself it was happening again... so I was having a panic attack. Like it was all just a bit of a palaver to be honest and all the while Rory was just by the vending machine! Anyway, it wasn't the worst one I have had, but I mean the timing wasn't great.

Anyway, Aurora then gets checked by the nurse and we are told to go down the hall to the out of hours doctor. We get to the out of hours doctor and there are no appointments available for that evening. I was there like, 'She is two, like can you not just squeeze her in?!' They couldn't so we get an appointment at 9am the next morning.



The next morning arrives. It is 2.5 miles to the hospital right. I am like, meh, I can do this. So we walk to the hospital. I say "we", Aurora was in the pushchair. I was brisk walking it. 45 minutes later we turn up at hospital and we are half an hour early. The waiting room had funny lighting so I got a headache. Like honestly it was just not the best weekend for either of us. So we are waiting in the waiting room and there are two kids playing with the toys and Aurora asks me if she can go an play, I said of course. She the looks at me and says, "actually it's okay, I will wait my turn." Weirdo!


So we see the doctor and he says she has impetigo. Now, I had no idea what this is, but it is a seriously contagious bacterial infection. It is extremely common in kids and basically it's just not very nice.

Now, because it is so contagious I have to wash bed sheets everyday. EVERYDAY. Like I wash mine once a week anyway and Rory's a little more often but like everyday and I have to do it on a hot wash so I kill the bacteria, like it is all just a bit of a trauma to be honest. It wouldn't be so bad if I only had to do hers, but because she is a ninja and comes to my bed I have to do mine as well! You literally couldn't make this up!


She was prescribed another form of antibiotics - that the pharmacist then tells me I have to give her every six hours. She made it very clear that I would have to wake her up in the middle of the night if necessary. So here I am waking her up at 10pm and 4am for the last 4 days to give her a medicine that she says is disgusting and that I am actually allergic to, so a couple of times at 4am I have nearly sucked the syringe (like I do with Calpol) and been like nope... maybe I shouldn't do that.


THEN


I take her to the doctors for a follow up appointment a couple of days later and apparently it is clearing up but not at the rate it should. So the doctor changes the antibiotics. I ask if I have to get up in the night and give them to her, she says, no?

So I explain what the pharmacist told me and the doctor says, "clearly that's a pharmacist that doesn't have kids, I would just get all the doses into daylight hours."

I laughed... not because this was funny but because like why don't they just make that the rule and tell everyone that if it can be done right?!



NOW


She has a sore throat and is losing her voice, but the impetigo is getting a lot better, slowly but surely. I really have Rory to thank too because I got an extension on my assignment because she's been ill, so cheers kid!



So that has been the last few weeks. I am going crazy because she hasn't been in nursery for two and a half weeks and I can't run when she is at home, so I have only run a couple of times. However yesterday I ran for 28 minutes straight and went 4K!

I was shocked!

I mean things are still going well, I just wish Rory wasn't so ill and it seems to be all the time. Don't get me wrong I know it is because before nursery it was just her and I all day everyday, so everything she is getting at the moment is just because she never had that exposure as a tiny baby. It is just incredibly annoying and I can't help but think that it is my fault.


Hopefully she gets better soon though and everything can go back to normal.


Many thanks, sincerely



104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page