top of page

The happiest place on Earth

Hi everyone!


Well, what a few weeks we have had.

Firstly, it was my birthday.

Yep, I successfully made it to 26. After four car crashes, writing three of the cars off; and having to be rescued by firefighters in one of them, a surprise pregnancy and a number of questionable life choices, here I am!

Went out for my birthday for the first time in a year and it was pretty meh! I mean the company was great obviously! Honestly, I am not sure how I did it every weekend and most times two nights a week too! Like not only is it expensive - especially as I am the opposite of a lightweight! But it's so much effort! Makeup, then you have to decide on an outfit, then there's the whole heels situation. LIKE WHY?! I couldn't walk for two days after that, and that's an issue when you have to walk everywhere!



Anyway, I feel like I am whinging, I do not want to whinge. I have just had the best two weeks EVER. I took Aurora to Florida to see her grandparents and great grandparents and uncles and aunts. There's a lot of them! We were spoilt (especially Aurora). Rory had the best time, she has acquired a hybrid accent and she has picked up some Americanisms! We went to Disney World, had thanksgiving, I had a weekend off (being a mother!) and went to Orlando. Honestly, just the best time. Tearing up just thinking about it!



So Disney. What can I say?! So Aurora, (my daughter, not the princess - who, by the way, she is not named after, let's just get that straight!) met all the princesses. Honestly, it was the cutest thing, we had brunch at "Cinderella's Royal Table", we met Cinderella on the way in. Rory had her autograph book. URGH, IT WAS JUST SO CUTE! So she cuddled Cinderella, then we were taken upstairs in the Disney castle - you know the one! They do this thing where they announce the character that's coming out to all the tables. Every time Aurora heard the trumpet she would turn around and see who it was that was coming out. In the end, we saw, Snow White, Princess Jasmine, Princess Aurora and Ariel. Ariel was her favourite, all she wanted after that encounter was Ariel this, and Ariel that! She has even written (not literally, she's not that advanced for a two-year-old!) to Santa telling him that Ariel is her favourite and she wants Ariel everything! It is very cute.



In other news, I met Goofy, and it was the best day of my life!



We obviously did other things besides Disney, but literally I had to stop myself crying on a number of occasions over the three days we were there because Aurora was just so happy and smiley and she got really into it! It was honestly one of the best experiences of my life. Like it is all well and good going on your own and I will always remember the first time I went, but it is a completely different experience with a kid. Just to see her face light up, not only at the characters but at all the attractions and the parade. Honestly, I can't even put into words how wonderful it was. Disney really is the happiest place on Earth - despite the fact I was fighting back happy tears the WHOLE TIME!



We got back on Saturday morning. The flight was lovely, I watched Toy Story 4 - cried, I also watched Spider-Man (the new one) and The Queen's Corgis. Mate, the Queen's Corgis - is HILARIOUS! I was laughing the whole time. Obviously it is meant for kids but there is some incredible adult humour in there! Aurora was lovely - was not expecting that as last time she was a little sh*t! She watched movies, had snacks and slept. It was awesome - no tantrums - no nothing! Shocked! Food was disgusting though, sorry BA but just do better next time! I did get a choice of gin though, that was a new one!


Jet-lag - what can I say about that? It is awful! Going over there was not a problem. Coming back. Wow, was I moody!? Trying to keep Aurora up was a mission, we ended up going to a shop to look at pretty lights and Aurora just went round the toys. I tell you what though, next year I am definitely starting the whole "Better ask Santa for it" in like February! It works like a charm! If she is having a tantrum - "Rory, Santa is watching" she stops! I did, however, conquer jet-lag for both myself and Aurora on the first night. The trick - for those of you who are wondering! - is to not sleep once you get off the flight, then go to bed at a reasonable hour. Either that or stay on American time and pretend you are still there! Or just stay there. I mean, why come back at all?!



I am so certain I will be telling you more about America but for now, I have to go catch up on Uni work! Speaking of which, definitely got my highest scoring assignment back while I was across the pond. I was very proud of myself. Got me a celebratory coffee! It was massive, American style! So, so good, still dreaming about it to this day!


Many thanks, sincerely



77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page