top of page

Something wicked this way comes 🎃

Hi everyone,


So I found out that Aurora does indeed have a half-term like other kids. I found this out three days before her last session of the term! So I mean that was great planning by yours truly. I do however think I have exceeded all my parenting capabilities this half term. I mean it helps that I love Halloween and Autumn, but we have done loads!


First of all, we went on a train to see my Mummy and bought Horatio and Ralph back with us. So I mean already, it beats every other week off! We have a dog living with us and Horace has come to stay!


We then went to a pumpkin patch, and oh my goodness, why I hadn't thought of doing this before, even without kids is beyond me! It was incredible, everything I wanted it to be and more. We went with Aunty G and Uncle Horace and there was a tractor ride, loads of activities and of course the pumpkin patch, which granted, we went late in the "Halloween season" therefore there weren't many decent pumpkins left but we did manage to find a couple of big ones and the cutest little munchkin pumpkin! Which of course I carved... not the munchkin pumpkin, as One Tree Hill taught me, they are for decoration! So yes, we had such a wonderful time there and Rory loved it and obviously I and the others did too!



That night Uncle Horatio stayed over and we watched Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. Which of course is ALWAYS a winner! I once again became obsessed with the Wizarding World app and took the quiz to see which house I would be in and it changed from Gryffindor to Slytherin, so that's banging! Tom Felton come at me! Although Aurora broke my wand, (not a euphemism!!) I got Horatio Draco Malfoy's and myself Sirius Black's but Aurora decided that mine was a screwdriver/hammer. So it ended up breaking into three pieces and I attempted to put it back together but it just ended up like Ron Weasley's in the Chamber of Secrets. Luckily I don't possess the magical powers to make someone eat slugs though so I mean, I'll take the positives!

You know what wasn't a positive though, having myself, Horatio, Ralph and Aurora in the bed. It was like a live-action version of "there were ten in the bed". But I was the only one falling out... constantly. I got an hours sleep that night, between Horatio fighting something in his sleep, Ralph not knowing where to place himself and Aurora fidgeting and constantly changing positions. It just was not my night! Then just to top it all off, went to settle down for an afternoon nap the next day and as soon as I drift off, who walks in the door. Aunty G. Thanks, babe!



So yesterday was Halloween. What a day. I mean firstly can we please address this whole, trick or teat thing. So kids say it, what are the adults answering the door supposed to say?! Because I said "trick" a few times and there was just an awkward laugh followed by awkward silence between myself and the little monsters. I mean eventually I handed them sweets but it just makes no sense. Secondly, as Aurora is two, last year we did not go trick or treating and this was actually my first year doing it. So as we were going around strangers houses, all I kept thinking was, I am going to spend a good few years of my life telling Aurora not to take sweets from strangers and not to talk to strangers and all of a sudden once a year, I am going to be going around with her to random houses so she can ask for sweets?! Where is the logic in this?!


However, all that aside. Halloween was ace, some of the costumes were awesome and actually quite impressive! Horatio, Aurora and Bentley were all pumpkins. It was actually the cutest thing I have ever seen! Aurora wasn't too sure about trick or treating at first, I mean rightly so, taking candy from strangers! *eye roll*. But she got into it soon enough and no one tells a two-year-old off for taking handfuls of sweets, do they?! So she was rolling in it! She took a sandcastle bucket and it was overflowing by the time we got back!



Halloween 2019 it was a pleasure!


In other news, I have started my uni work and almost completed my first assignment. Well done me, *pat on the back*. Still got another module to go through but I figured I would get the first modules assignment out the way and just do one module at a time. So I am hoping to have that finished by the end of this weekend so I can start on the other one next week! Basically, it is all positive in this house and Rory goes back to nursery on Monday so that is a relief!


Many thanks, sincerely

P.S. It is my birthday two weeks today, just in case anyone has forgotten or was unsure!



48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page