top of page

One day at a time

Hi everyone!


How's it going?

Lockdown is getting to me.

I think I might be going insane.

But it's cool.

We are cool.

So, so cool.


I decided to use lockdown to do some home improvements, so I have painted my bathroom grey and decided that all the accessories are going to be mustard yellow, because, why not!? It looks pretty good to be honest, I am rather proud of myself, especially as I couldn't find my roller so had to do it all by hand!

Then I decided to paint my kitchen, again, no roller. My arms hurt to buggery! BUT... I did a feature wall, and it is bright red! I love it, Aurora does not love it, but she is warming to it! Now I have lots of things in my amazon basket to really complete my bathroom and kitchen and I am honestly so excited. For the first time I feel like the place I am living is truly my own and it feels good. Like I did the whole "nesting" thing three years too late, but, my house is now a home! Or at least it will be when everything is completed! I even cleaned my oven, that is how bored I have been!



Rory and I were in the latest issue of Take-A-Break, it was pretty cool to be honest! I legit ran around telling everyone I was famous! It was quite something. Honestly must have looked like a right moron, but who even cares! The journalist wrote such a lovely story, even if it did sound like Aurora was a four stone baby at birth, but you know, small things! Other than that it was honestly just so cool to see our story in an actual magazine. When lockdown is over we are going to be the talk of all the waiting rooms!

Wishful thinking... maybe.

But bloody cool nonetheless (what a brilliant word!)



In other news, although running isn't really on the agenda being at home with a three-year-old alone, we are walking everyday, at least 3K and I am trying to do home workouts when I can, although recently I have really struggled with motivation. I don't know why either, which is really annoying because if I knew I could fix it. I mean at least it is just the exercise part I am struggling with the motivation. I have been doing the keto diet for a few weeks now and legit, it is so good. I have really gotten into baking, made the most amazing keto brownies the other day with Aurora and she actually prefers them! So, I mean that's great! Only issue of course is that the ingredients are far more expensive! But honestly totally worth it! I mean the sweeter things are much better than the bread things, but I mean I always crave sweet things any way so, I am a winner! I am losing weight too and that makes me so happy! Something I literally could never do, partly because I am lazy as hell but despite the lockdown situation and an annoying child constantly bugging me, I am still able to do it! So go me! Just need to get my motivation back now and get back to running.



On a completely separate note, one thing that is really bugging me at the moment is Netflix right, now hear me out, I understand the need for a cliff hanger. I love them, however, Netflix just takes cliff hangers to the next level, I mean I don't want to ruin anything for anyone obviously but like at least tell us the show has been renewed for a second or third season before you go and mess with my head like that. Like I get it, you need people to want to watch the next season to keep everything going, but the extent of some of these cliff hangers and you don't even know if you're going to even know what happens and if you do then it'll be a whole year you have to wait, and it isn't like anyone can film anything the moment so let's add another year onto that. It just bugs me. That's all I have to say on the matter but I feel very strongly about it.


So aside from all that, I just want to take a moment to say that lockdown is tough. It is tough for everyone. The last few days I have really struggled, Aurora is so full on and obviously bored. I mean, aren't we all?! We are just getting on top of each other and getting stressed out with each other. I mean, I have literally cried so much that I don't think I have any tears left. It just seems like I can't get five minutes to myself, like I can't even have a bloody bath in peace, unless I have one at night obviously, but then by the time Aurora is ready for bed I just want to get in bed myself, like I am absolutely shattered, constantly. If it wasn't for the copious amounts of coffee I have been consuming, (I know y'all thought I was going to say wine - but actually, I will have you know I haven't had wine in a month!) I don't even know what I would be like! What I am trying to say is. Be kind, you don't know what someone is going through. Lockdown is difficult for everyone, not just those with kids, although I would definitely prefer to be in the category without kids at the moment!

Aurora and I are best friends, don't get me wrong, I love her to pieces. Figured I should make that clear! It is just a real trying time and I have never felt more alone that I have done in the past few days.

But you know what, every day is a new day and we will get through this together! Plus there are people out there really suffering with everything that is going on, so really I should be grateful that Aurora and I are safe and well.



I am open to suggestions for more projects by the way, I need a distraction!


Stay safe everyone.

Many thanks, sincerely



87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page