top of page

Note to Self - No Expectations, No Disappointments

Hi everyone,

Managing expectations. As we all know kids are very impressionable and we have to manage their expectations. For example when Rory and I go to the shop and she asks me for three chocolate eggs and some crisps. I have to tell her she can have one thing. Otherwise, she gets her hopes up and then she is inevitably left disappointed. This is a real petty example but as a child, if I were to say she could have all of the above and then not actually get her anything, there would be a tantrum to end all tantrums.

As an adult however we often get our hopes up, whether it be about exam results, or even something as simple as looking forward to an occasion or catching up with friends and family. So when sometimes these things get cancelled or someone just doesn't turn up, or you didn't get the results you were hoping for, we are left disappointed. I believe that managing the expectations of adults is just as important as managing those of children.


Now I am writing this as someone who actually doesn't have many close friends. I look forward to when they come and see me, or when we meet up in town! It is a big thing for me to get out with people other than my daughter and to speak to someone other than my daughter. Rory is amazing, but honestly, there is only so much you can say to a two-year-old and get a reasonable response back! But honestly like it's not only that. Aurora gets her hopes up that someone else is coming over, I mean she must get so bored of me saying someone is coming over and then me having to explain that actually Mummy lied - when in reality I hadn't! So, what I am saying is manage the expectations of those around you. Rory and I look forward to the company, we look forward to seeing other people besides ourselves.


Unfortunately, as an adult, you can't have a tantrum! So instead I rant, so thanks for reading!



Moving on!


We are seeing Horace later, and honestly, I am so excited! All Aurora has gone on about in the last few days is seeing Uncle Horace, seeing Aunty Ted and seeing Aunty G... blah blah blah! All of whom we are seeing this weekend so that'll keep her happy for a while at least. Unless they cancel, or just don't turn up... lol jokes! They won't do that! I would slap them if they did! So it should be a jam-packed weekend of friends, family, rugby and F1! I am living my best life!



I am currently watching American Horror Story. I have just finished season one and I tell you what, to the people who told me it isn't scary, you should go get checked out. Like I can't even, but you know when you start something and you just have to carry on so now I am hooked, despite not being able to sleep at night.

As you may have guessed, no, I am not very good with horrors, on any level. I mean I watched "Psycho" one night at school. I was the only boarder left in my dorm that didn't do GCSE Drama, so they all went to watch "The Woman in Black" and I decided it would be a good idea to watch "Psycho" on my own. It wasn't a good idea, it was a stupid idea. But again, I started so I finished! I watched the whole thing, and couldn't sleep for weeks and don't even get me started on the shower! HORRIFIC. Yet here I am, watching a Horror series. I think it is actually the opening credits and the theme that gets me! Thank goodness you can skip that on Netflix!


On a real positive note, Rory is loving nursery! Every morning this week she has woken up and come straight to me and says "OK then, come on Mummy let's go to nursery" and every morning it breaks me! It is just adorable!


No dogs were harmed in the making of this photo!


I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and you'll be hearing from me soon with some more random thoughts I am sure!


Many thanks, sincerely!

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page