top of page

It was the first day of getting my life back

Hi everyone!


So Rory started nursery last week. She goes every morning and it was the first time in a long time I have had some real "me" time. I can eat without sharing my food, I can go to the toilet in peace, I can sit at my desk and work without wondering why it is so quiet in the flat and what on Earth she could be doing! It was weird.



Put it this way, for the last two and a half years it has just been me and Rory. So basically I haven't had a night away from her since last Christmas - not that, that has changed since she has been at nursery!! But the most she has been away from me is a few hours, but it has always been with someone she knows, Aunty Ted or Aunty G - no one else really has her to be honest! So her going to nursery was a big thing.


I mean obviously it's a big thing for her. She had her first morning away from me with people she doesn't know, in an environment she doesn't know, and it is all about the learning experience. You know what though, she did so, so well. Only had to get her an hour early on the first day – and she totally wasn’t the first kid to leave! It has been smooth sailing from then on! I tell you what, I did not realise the impact it would have on me. I thought ahh two and a half hours isn't that long. Let me tell you.... it is a lifetime! Having spent two and a half years with the kid day in and day out, I don't know what to do now I am on my own for this period of time in the day! I mean I will be doing my uni work for sure, but it is just so quiet, and in the day as well, like I feel like I should be sleeping!



What I do, do on the other hand is catch up on the Kardashian's, drink copious amounts of tea, I do yoga and I clean. Today I actually painted the piece of wood that my television is on in the living room as I am having a crisis. Well not really a crisis, it isn't like a mid-life crisis or anything, I mean it isn't like I have gone and bought myself a brand-new car or anything, although at this point in my life I don't even think I would turn down a Robin Reliant. The name of that car is funny for so many reasons – but that's for another day!


So yes, I have a face mask on, and I am really making the most of my "me" time. I even thought about starting to run!! That is how INSANE it is me having all this time back again! I mean so much so that I think even thinking about running made me ill last weekend. Okay no it didn't. But I was ill last weekend and I am adamant that it is because of the full moon and the fact it was Friday the 13th. I mean what else can it be?! I am making light of this, but I actually couldn't get out of bed on Saturday. Do you have any idea how hard it is to look after a two-year-old when you are bed ridden! So luckily Aunty G messaged me and asked to come over and she took Rory away... bye Rores!


By all accounts she had a fab time, she took their dog Honey (Ralph's long-distance girlfriend!!) for a walk. She played with Phoebe, honestly the pair of them are hilarious! Rory absolutely loves Phoebe! To the point where if I tell her that Aunty G is coming over she will now ask if Phoebe is coming too! It is so cute seeing them play together! Then they went into town to meet some of Aunty Gs friends and Rory had some food, which was good because I was not cooking for anyone that night! Then when Rory came back a few hours later we watched movies in bed and had a sleepover. An ill sleepover but a sleepover nonetheless!



So thank you Aunty G, Phoebe, Belle, Caroline and obviously Honey for helping me out this weekend. You guys are awesome, and we love you! You always check up on us - G especially and it does not go un-noticed. MWAH



So, as well as painting furniture, I have also painted and rearranged my living room - I am having a bit of a decorating phase at the moment and as Rory is getting older and she is going to be remembering more and more. I just want her to have a nice place to grow up in. I just want to make it really nice for us. I am going to do her room next and I am still planning it out, but I am thinking about getting chalk board paint and bordering it off so she has a chalk board on the wall that she can draw on. Risky I know – we will see how sure of this I am when it comes to actually putting it up! She has also said she wants lots of pictures, so I am going to do a picture wall. As grey is kind of the "theme" around the house I am going to do her walls half grey and half another colour, and I am going to get some new furniture for her room - a wardrobe and a matching toy chest thingy! Basically I have moved all of her toys out of the living room and into her room and I am going to get rid of all the toys she doesn't play with, in the next week because that child has an unnecessary amount of toys! I feel like this is a universal problem with kids though, like where on Earth do all these toys come from, because I sure as hell don't buy them! Bear in mind I do a clear out like once every couple of months too. So I have no idea where they all come from!



The moral of the story is, honestly I have no idea. Let's just go with, make the most of your "me" time - you are worth it. But also don't buy your kids any toys because toys magic out of nowhere until they are overflowing and taking over EVERYTHING!


Have a good day!

Many thanks, sincerely

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page