top of page

It always seems impossible until it is done

Hi everyone,

So, what a week!!


Aunty Ted got a puppy, not this week, a few weeks ago but I didn't want to steal her thunder and write about it before everyone knew. So, I feel as though I am ready to give Bentley his debut on my blog! He is so freakin’ cute, I mean don't get me wrong Ralphie you are still my fave but Bentley the schipoo is adorable. He is so small, but just delicious! Rory is obviously obsessed and loves him. Every morning since she found out about the puppy it's been, "Can I see Bentley today? Can I see Aunty Ted?" I'm like, jeez girl, we saw them both yesterday, but you know what, we are totally puppy sitting today so yes, go answer the door and let Aunty Ted in!

Hilarious.



They are like two little beings running around after each other and on more than one occasion has had both Teddie and I in absolute hysterics! One time, Rory was wearing a jumper and Benters - I have since been told will under no circumstances be his nickname.... little does she know! - got stuck. His little baby teeth just got caught on her jumper and she was shouting to get him off her but instead she just ended up dragging him along the grass. Sounds a lot worse that it was! But it was just the funniest thing ever! Don't worry though, we got him off and they both lived to tell the tale, or at least for me to exploit their story for hilarity purposes!



In other news, Aurora ACTUALLY did a wee on the toilet. So this is the thing right I knew this day would come but now that it has I am just so elated. Don't get me wrong, this whole thing has been the most stressful thing I have ever done. I would go back to working stupid hours in recruitment again before doing potty training any time soon! The relief when she went on the toilet, I mean she was going but I felt that in my soul! I legit can't even put it into words. I was so proud. I know that there is still a long way to go, and I am still putting her on the toilet every half an hour. Like it is a tedious job and it has quite literally taken all summer to get any form of breakthrough. BUT I DID IT! Okay, SHE DID IT! Although I have to say all those people who say, “Don’t make a big deal about it when they do it..” I can only assume their kids were fantastic and got it quickly, because I couldn‘t help but make a big deal about it! And then she did it again the next morning… she was so cute when she went for a wee the next morning though, she said to me, “I did it Mummy, I did it!” She had a massive grin on her face, and you could just tell she was so, so proud of herself. I was calmer that time around, but I still gave her a cuddle and told her that I was proud of her too. I just feel like in terms of parenting, this is a massive win, for both of us. Just a massive sense of achievement.



I would go as far to say a well known fact about me is that I hate bananas... or so I thought. So, when Rory was younger, I would mash up bananas for her and one time I literally threw up. That was the extent to which I hated them. However, yesterday, I was cleaning out the fridge and the bananas were on the turn and so I made some banana cupcakes for Rory. I soldiered through the mashing, which quite honestly, I cannot stand. Added some ingredients here and there, we all know I don't do recipes, I just kind of put a bit of this and a lot of that and 3 of them and see how things turn out. Surprisingly it actually worked! These cupcakes I literally threw together last night are banging. Now I can hear you ask, "well how do you know this Megan, you hate bananas?"


Well my friends. I ate one, I mean not just a bite to make sure I wasn't going to poison Rory. I ate a whole cupcake and I loved it! It is also not as though I put minimal bananas in, there was 7 solid sized bananas in this mixture. Like my mind has been changed to the point where I ate on for breakfast and it was delightful.



So this week has been a week of firsts, Aunty Teddie got a new puppy, Rory is FINALLY using the toilet and I realised bananas aren't the food of the devil! No Satan, not today!


Many thanks, sincerely



65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page