top of page

If there is no struggle, there is no progress

Hi everyone!

I hope you are all staying safe!

Aurora is a nightmare; she is in full on three-year-old mode and is just constantly needing to be doing something or wanting something or basically just bugging me! So, we have watched Frozen Two five times in the last three days. However, I have found a new subscription thing, that doesn’t break the bank and it literally kept her occupied for a solid hour and it is a cute arty thing that we can do together, (because you know, I am just so arty!) Any way, the box came, addressed to her and it was extremely exciting, for both of us actually. She thought I was the best because I got her a parcel and I was excited because it meant that I did not get any post.


What is it about getting older and post? Like I literally dread getting post, I get proper anxious about it. Whereas when I was younger, I used to get really annoyed that I wasn't getting any, it's like when you are a kid and you want to grow up and be an adult, so bad. Then it happens and you realise it sucks.

Anyway, that was a depressing tangent.

Back to Aurora’s post.


The subscription is called ToucanBox and legit, it is totally worth it. She got two craft packs in the box and we have done one of them. We made a bamboo beehive and a bee, okay I made the bee, I needed it to be done right, I have control issues, don’t judge me! Killed an hour of the day and now she runs around with the bee and the hive and leaves me alone for a solid half an hour before coming back and bugging me again. But it is a half an hour I didn’t have before, therefore I am grateful.


She also got a Smartie stuck up her nose, and to be honest I don’t even know what happened! Luckily for her though I got my medical training from countless hours watching both Grey’s Anatomy and House. So that Smartie was out in no time. After I thought she was lying of course! It was pretty funny, although she is rubbish at blowing out of her nose, but we got there in the end. It was definitely one of the funnier lockdown moments. Although it does leave me wondering, what goes through a child’s mind for them to this, ‘Man, I know what I am going to do today, I’m going to shove a Smartie so far up my nose then make my mother get it out’. Weird child. She is fine by the way, something is probably wrong with her brain, but I don’t suspect any lasting damage, unless stupidity counts!


I am however going a little crazy, I mean, nothing new there. I am aware I have always been a little crazy! So basically, because I couldn’t run, due to the fact that I am home alone with the child 24/7, so we have been going on walks every day.

Got Rory up to 9K!

Hilarious, she is such a good little walker. The issue now is, on our last walk a couple of days ago she started limping. So now we have to take it easy for a couple of days, which actually sucks.

So, I have started running again.

On the spot.

In my bedroom.

3K, on the spot, in my bedroom.

Like what has my life come to that, that is how I get my exercise in! Although the positive is I can watch House while running, insane distraction from my crappy breathing technique and even better I have a tiny three-year-old bugging me for the whole time. Really, I see nothing wrong with this plan!


When we do walk, there is one spot she has in both parks that she stops abruptly and turns around to me and says, 'OK Mummy, you have to take pictures of me now!'

Obviously I oblige, the results are below!



Got some really fantastic news the other day. Aurora won’t be going back to nursery until September. I literally have nothing else to say on the matter other than I am only halfway through my lockdown. FANTASTIC. Don‘t get me wrong, she is a lovely kid and we have a lot of fun but there are good days and bad days. Definitely more bad than good at the moment but you know.... without the struggle, we wouldn’t progress. At least that’s what I’m telling myself.

Stay safe and stay positive

Many thanks, sincerely



86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page