top of page

I believe in fate

Hi again everyone,


Right the beginning..... I am not going to start at the beginning of my life, that’s just boring! No we are going to start with the most interesting part of me... my daughter - sounds corny I know. But she is my greatest story, my greatest achievement and above all my greatest blessing.


First... the story...

In order to really understand why she is my greatest achievement and my greatest blessing, you must first hear the story... it goes something like this.


I am sure you have all heard of parents calling their children "an accident" or "a mistake". I wouldn't use either of those terms to describe Aurora, I would use the term "surprise". Surprise is defined by the Oxford English Dictionary as being: "an unexpected or astonishing event"... THAT MY FRIENDS IS WHAT AURORA WAS!!


Two weeks before I had Aurora - and my questionably taste in phone cases

Picture this.... it was a misty April morning.... just kidding it was quite cold from what I remember but that's really not important.... so I had been drinking on the Saturday night... not like one or two... it was a "lets get w*nkered lads" kind of drinking.... woke up on the Sunday (well done me!) absolutely fine... slight tummy ache but honestly nothing out of the ordinary.... then all of a sudden I had the most intense pain in my stomach, it would be there for a few seconds and then disappear, then it would come back a period of time later and disappear again - this would happen a few times more.... okay so this would happen until 3am in the morning.


At 3am on the Monday morning I finally decided that I should probably go get some pain relief from A&E as I was having to leave for work at 5am.


So... in true Megan style, like the strong independent woman I am 🙋🏼‍♀️😂, I walked myself to A&E - I mean granted I lived about 400 metres (if that away from the hospital) but still I mean it took me 45 minutes I was in that much pain... so I get to A&E and I say to the receptionist... "So I am having this stomach ache, but it isn't there all the time, it's there for a few seconds and then disappears for a period of time, but I have noticed the cramps are getting closer together."

NOW in theory this probably should have been a warning to myself as when I think about it I'm like Megan for goodness sake it is obvious... however I obviously did not think like that and just said, "honestly, I don't want to waste anyone's time, could I just have some codeine and I will be on my way."


Obviously they were not going to allow that to pass as I had come to A&E... so I waited... then at 4.25am they got round to seeing me... now by this point right I couldn't sit down, I was being sick, feeling absolutely awful and the nurse says to me... "is there any chance you could be pregnant?"

I literally laughed in her face and was answered with " PERLEEAASSSEE!!"so I tried just asking for codeine again but to no avail.... so now the doctors had emerged and were feeling my tummy - I took a pregnancy test and in my mind I was like "I'll do one just to get you off my back"

Then..... the nurse came back in and said.... "You're pregnant"



HONESTLY I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MYSELF


She then proceeded to ask me how far a long I was.... to which I laughed uncontrollably for around 5 minutes - taking us to 4.35am. (time line is important!!) so again the doctors were feeling my stomach, they started saying that they thought I was having a miscarriage, the nurses were going to get an ultrasound machine there was so much going on that I honestly just felt overwhelmed and faint and well just completely SHOOK.

So I ask everyone to leave so I can have a minute to myself and then BOOM.... now I needed to push - I shouted to the doctors and nurses saying "SOMETHING IS HAPPENING RIGHT NOW" they put me on a bed and wheeled me to the maternity ward - I should probably add right, that I am completely alone, I have no one with me at all at this point!

So we go up to the maternity ward and the nurse says " Okay we are just going to go into the ISIS room"

I scream and then I say... "Ummmm are you f*cking kidding me?!"

The nurse responds with, "It's a Greek Goddess"

I say... "Not any f*cking more it's not"

and she laughs... SHE LAUGHS!! In my head I am like mate I'm being serious!!


So anyway by this point I'm going to say it is around 4.40am.

The next thing I know at 4.46am I am pushing because my body is somehow controlling what I am doing and sparing you the gory details there is a baby girl....


Healthy weight

Healthy body

just a healthy baby in general.


So now I have a baby girl, right, I don't want to hold her I am in such a state of shock that I honestly can't recall the next hour or so, I remember walking to an ambulance and being taken to another hospital and then she was mine, all mine.


I had nothing.... literally. Well apart from my work phone which by this point was the start of the shift so I was getting so many calls from managers about people who hadn't turned up and I was like how am I supposed to do this! I mean looking back it's quite comical really... there was me having just given birth completely out of the blue and I was taking work calls and trying to get people's shifts covered!


Don't worry though, it took me an hour or so but I held her and knew at that moment that, that was where I was supposed to be - jokes took me a while to get to that point - but I do believe that everything happens for a reason and nearly two years on I believe this baby is the best thing that has ever happened to me.


When she was cute and quiet 😂

Right so there is the story of how I had my surprise baby... although something that I do find funny is I remember the Christmas just before I had her, I was saying to my cousins and mummy and aunty that "I am never having kids but if I do and it's a girl she is going to be called Aurora"

LITERALLY I ACTUALLY SAID THAT!


So I mean it was a no brainer that she was going to be called Aurora because that, my friends, is fate.




348 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page