top of page

A letter to the future Aurora


As you know it is Aurora's second birthday on Wednesday and I have asked those who are close to us to write a letter to Aurora that I will then give to her on a later birthday.


The reason I am doing this is because I think it would be a lovely way for Aurora to see how loved she was when she was little. Unfortunately, as time goes on, we lose people who are close to us and I think it would be lovely for her to see who was in our lives and what our family and friends thought about her. Then, when she is older, she can read the letters from everyone and see what everyone thought of her!


With that I would like to share with you my letter to the future Aurora!

-----------------------

Hey Baby Bear,

First of all, thank you! My very first memory of you was literally pushing you out, and for that I am thankful. I didn't go through any of the worries of pregnancy, that I know a lot of people go through. Aurora, one minute you were unknown to everyone and then next thing I knew, I was a Mother. From the moment that fact sank in, I knew what I had to do. I knew that I would do absolutely anything for you to help and protect you.

Secondly, Peppa Pig and Paw Patrol, please, for the love of God tell me you are not watching that anymore because I am going INSANE! I mean, if at whatever age you have access to a computer and the internet and phones and this blog you are watching Peppa Pig or Paw Patrol, I will be seriously questioning my parenting capabilities!

So as I am writing this Rory, I am 25, I am a full-time single parent and I am doing a primary education course with the Open University. I hope to God I finished that course because I can tell you right now, it is a STRUGGLE! You madam are a handful! You no longer nap unless it’s a twenty-minute power nap on the sofa and at the moment I am lucky to get four hours sleep a night. However, can I just say, when you were a tiny baby you slept all through the night, I mean I have subsequently been told that is not normal, but that was NOT an invitation to make it up as you got older!


I know for a fact you have grown into the most beautiful person and I, of course, am going to take some of that credit. For the last two years I have noticed that you are so considerate of others and also very aware of everything and everyone around you. Even if you do call six-year-old kids, "baby's"! The fabulous thing about you little one is that you have the kindest heart, even to your dolly's, you tuck them in at night and give them a kiss, you give them some of your drink and feed them your food, you are a beautiful human being Aurora and never, EVER let anyone tell you any differently.

I am sure I would have told you the story about when I finally named you by now, but just a reminder... I was at the hospital (obviously!!) and your Aunty Teddie was one of the first people I called, I mean honestly, she worked for me and I needed to off load the stupid work phone! But she messaged me saying "Which part of the hospital do I come to?" to which I replied, "I have just had a baby, which part do you think you come to?!" She came into the room and honestly as soon as she saw you, she cried. Aunty Ted sat down beside me and through her tears she says, "Have you named her yet?" I said, "No, I haven't, I can't." Teddie then exclaims... "Oh my goodness, Meg, we both know what you are going to call just bloody say it!!" So I did.

"Aurora"


That was it, that was the moment I knew my life had changed forever and honestly baby, I wouldn't have it any other way. You have changed my life in so many ways, I can't even begin to explain. You are two years old in three days and you have made me, your mother; cry, laugh, shout, scream, giggle and experience a love like no other. I am so sure you are going to be reading this thinking "For goodness sake Mother, keep it together would you" and you'll be rolling your eyes because you are one sassy madam, monkey.... goodness me! Honestly, I don't even know where you get it from, I am so NOT sassy in the slightest!

One thing I sincerely hope you get from me is my sarcasm, because at this point, we will be having so much fun, and my Mother would HATE it! Honestly the fun we could have is unimaginable and I really hope we are doing that! I think you are just like me because honestly we are so similar in so many ways, independent, a little crazy, I mean we both love dancing in the kitchen to Taylor Swift, we love to bake - you love to get in the sink, something I do not share with you! What I am envisioning is me and you conquering the world together little one!

Here's another thing, I am Mummy. Now, as a two-year-old, and forever! I can't bring myself to call my Mummy, "Mum" so I expect the same from you please! People will probably make fun of you for it. OWN IT GIRL! Honestly! Own it, own everything about yourself. If you want to be bold, be bold, if you want to be different, then challenge people. I am not suggesting you go around fist fighting but stand up for what you believe! Get into arguments (I did as a teenager and honestly some of my funniest memories were the arguments me and my friends got into!) Be yourself, wholly and truly yourself. Don't change who you are to please anyone, if they don't love you for you then they don't love you at all. It has taken me 25 years to get the that point Rory and I hope you are loving yourself today.

It is important to me that you understand that because it took me having you, for me (and then add a couple of years) to be happy with who I am and realise my self- worth. I want to teach you that, you are an incredible person just the way you are, because that is what you, unknowingly, taught me.


You are two years old and you have made me a better person without even realising it and that is BEAUTIFUL. No matter where you are in 15/20 years, I will make sure you know that you bring out the best in me. Yes, you were a surprise and I never wanted children before you, (I am hoping you have brother and/or sisters by now!). Aurora you have given me the greatest gift I have ever received, that is you my baby. You are the best thing that ever happened to me. Quite honestly, I can't remember my life without you in it. I never want to know what life is like without you.

You worry about turtles being stuck in trees, you laugh at George Pig having hiccups, you love baby penguins (not just penguins, specifically baby penguins), you have a weird obsession with hiding my things and not telling me where they are, you steal my wine when you think I'm not looking, when I tell you to put something in the bin, you know you're not allowed to go in the kitchen without me, so you put it in the bathroom bin. When I am doing my work you come in and tell me what is happening in every episode of Peppa Pig or Paw Patrol and I wouldn't have it any other way. You are one crazy little lady and if you are anything like you were when you were two Aurora you are a wonderful human being and anyone who has you in their life is extremely lucky.

So with that my beautiful, strong, courageous daughter.

I love you.

More than I have ever loved anyone or anything.

Thank you for bringing me to reality and making me the person I am today. I can't wait to see what the future brings for us.

It is you and me little one, now and forever.

Lots of love

Mummy xx





262 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page